In a historic turn of events in the Assam elections, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) defeated Indian National Congress for the first time. Mr.Sarbananda Sonowal took oath as the first BJP Chief Minister of Assam on May 24, 2016, thus enabling BJP to etch its name successfully in the electoral history of Assam. The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Indian Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi and manyother senior party members of the BJP. Besides Mr. Sonowal, 10 other ministers also took oath at this swearing-in ceremony. Prior to these elections, Congress was very strong in Assam and has won and remained in power for three consecutive terms ruling Assam for 15 years continuously. Now at least for the next five years Assam is going to be led and governed by the BJP GovernmentAfter three consecutive terms of Congress rule, the frontier state of Assam is now going to be led by BJP for the next five years. Congress leader and previous Chief Minister of Assam,Mr. Tarun Gogoi was also present on the occasion. He gracefully accepted defeat in the elections and stated that his party will play the role of an active opposition in the Assam Legislative Assembly.


Here are some facts about the 2016 elections in Assam:
• The two phases of Assam elections 2016 saw 85 percent turnout of voters. In the previous 2011 elections the turnout was 76 percent.
• In the first phase of the elections BJP won 48 seats which constituted 73 percent of the total 65 seats.
• In the second phase of the Assam elections BJP won 62 percent seats bagging 38 out of the total 61 seats.
• Mr. Atul Bora of BJP scored the highest victory margin in these elections by defeating Mr. Akon Bora of Congress in Dispur by 1, 30,197 votes.
• The toughest fight took place between Mr. Kishore Nath of BJP and independent candidate MisbahulIslam Laskar in Barkhola. Mr. Nath won by mere 42 votes.
• Ex Chief Minister Mr. Tarun Gogoi defeated BJP’s Mr. Kamakhya Prasad Tasa by 17,495 votes in Titabar.
• All India United Democratic Front Chief Mr. Maulana Badruddin Ajmal who is considered as a kingmaker in Assam politics was expected to win easily but suffered a shock defeat to Wazed Ali Choudhury of the Congress in South Salmara. His party managed to win 13 seats.
• Seven of the ten sitting MLAs led by Mr. Himanta Biswa Sarma, who left Congress and contested on BJP tickets won the elections. Mr. Sarma himself also won in Jalukbari, by 85,935 votes.